Strathalbyn High School 100 years old in 2013
On Saturday, November 16th 2013, Strathalbyn High School celebrated its 100th anniversary.
The brand-new Strathalbyn High School, opened on Callington Road in 1927, with about 80 students. It had five main rooms - three classrooms, and a kitchen & laundry for domestic arts - and three acres of land.
1927 Official opening ceremony
The official opening ceremony in front of the new school in 1927, attended by Mr W T McCoy (Director of Education), members of parliament, & local dignitaries.
In 1996 Strathalbyn High School lost its name and unique identity to become part of the new Eastern Fleurieu R-12 School which now has over 1000 students on five campuses, (the former Strathalbyn High School, Strathalbyn Primary School, Langhorne Creek Primary School, Milang Primary School, & Ashbourne Primary School),
and about 100 staff, including ancillary staff. The Middle School (Years 7-9) and Senior School (Years 10-12) are both accommodated on the Callington Road site.
The whole school assembled in front of St Andrews Presbyterian Hall in 1917. This was the home of the school from 1915 (When they left their first home at Strathalbyn Primary School) until the end of 1926.